RSS Feed

Guest Interview ~ Leta Blake

A warm welcome to my guest author, Leta Blake.

 

Interview with Leta Blake

 

The unqualified regret you wish you could amend…

When I was in high school, I accidentally uncovered information about a friend that was very secret and quite damaging. Unsure what to do, I told my boyfriend about it in shocked confidence, but, of course, in a lax moment he told other people. This was scandalous enough information that it quickly got passed around the school. I felt horrible but no apology could erase it. The friend went to a boarding school the next year to escape the gossip.

I can’t imagine how that has shaped her entire life since, and the information itself was already rough enough. I’d do anything to go back in time and make a better choice. I should have told an adult, but even now I’m not sure who I could have turned to. Our school was giant and the teachers/guidance counselor were strangers to me.

The reason I didn’t go to my mother to begin with was a year or two before I’d told her about a friend at school who had handprint bruises around her neck from where her father had choked her. She was covering them with a turtleneck and showed me while changing in gym class. My mother did nothing (that I know of) about it. So I saw no reason to believe she’d help this girl either. And, also, at the time, I didn’t realize the girl needed help. I see now from an adult’s perspective that she did, but at the time I thought of the situation as consensual.

Regardless, I guess what I most wish is that I could go back and never see what I saw, or know what I knew, and therefore I’d never have said a word to anyone. But that’s selfish isn’t it? I should wish that I could back in time and make the right choice of who to tell. A choice that would have helped her.

Anyway, I’ve written this woman an apology letter as an adult, but even that doesn’t seem sufficient and I don’t know if she got it since it wasn’t acknowledged (which is fine! It wasn’t about me!).

This is one of the few things I truly wish I could turn back time about. It’s haunted and plagued me and there are times I wonder if I’ve been punished enough for it, if I’ve suffered enough in a karmic way for what I did.

AND ON THAT DEPRESSING NOTE, we’ll move on to the next question!

 

The temptation you wish you could resist…

Sugar. It always makes me feel so bad but it tastes so good!

 

The book that holds everlasting resonance…

As Meat Loves Salt by Maria McCann. It currently has the worst and most misleading cover of all time. The old cover was a more accurate depiction of what to expect. It’s a devastating read and just thinking about it still twists my stomach into knots. And yet I wouldn’t unread it if given the choice. It was vital to me in a deep way.

 

The film you can watch time and time again…

I used to say it was So I Married An Axe Murderer, but I rewatched it the other day for the first time in ages and was so sad to see it didn’t hold up. It was a joy to me in the 1990s and early 2000s. Oh well! Time! It undoes everything’s beauty eventually.

 

The event that altered the course of your life…

Smallville. It started airing in the midst of my deepest, darkest depression and I fell into the fandom. I started writing fanfiction. I started to explore my creativity and I was encouraged in it by fellow fans. I’d never be a writer today without Smallville, as crazy as that sounds. Or maybe I would be writer? Perhaps I’d have come to it from another path? But I’m grateful for the path I took all the same.

 

The philosophy that underpins your life…

If nothing else, it will be interesting.

 

 

 

A lustful young alpha meets his match in an older omega with a past. 

Professor Vale Aman has crafted a good life for himself. An unbonded omega in his mid-thirties, he’s long since given up hope that he’ll meet a compatible alpha, let alone his destined mate. He’s fulfilled by his career, his poetry, his cat, and his friends.

When Jason Sabel, a much younger alpha, imprints on Vale in a shocking and public way, longings are ignited that can’t be ignored. Fighting their strong sexual urges, Jason and Vale must agree to contract with each other before they can consummate their passion.

But for Vale, being with Jason means giving up his independence and placing his future in the hands of an untested alpha–as well as facing the scars of his own tumultuous past. He isn’t sure it’s worth it. But Jason isn’t giving up his destined mate without a fight.

This is a stand alone gay romance novel, 118,000 words, with a strong HFN ending, as well as a well-crafted, non-shifter omegaverse, with alphas, betas, omegas, male pregnancy, heat, and knotting. Content warning for pregnancy loss and aftermath.

 

Amazon  | Amazon UK

 

 

Author of the bestselling book Smoky Mountain Dreams and the fan favorite Training Season, Leta Blake’s educational and professional background is in psychology and finance, respectively. However, her passion has always been for writing. She enjoys crafting romance stories and exploring the psyches of made up people. At home in the Southern U.S., Leta works hard at achieving balance between her day job, her writing, and her family.

If you’d like to be among the first to know about new releases, you can sign up for Leta’s newsletter here.

Website

Facebook

Twitter

Goodreads

 

 

 

 

 

 

About Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

2 responses »

  1. Thank you for hosting me! I loved your interview questions!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

