RSS Feed

Interview and Guest Post ~ Ashe Winters

 

Title: Never Apart (Captivated in New England Book One)

Author: Ashe Winters

50% of All Book Sales will be donated to The Trevor Project

$4.99 or Free with Kindle Unlimited

Amazon.comGlobal Link

My heart throbbed a merciless, rhythmic beat as I accepted just how precious he was to me.

Nick tumbled hard for the waifish imp crying over a crushed pink donut. They were only little boys, but those big tears caused Nick’s protective instincts to flare and he was forever captivated.

Though the future beckoned, Nick felt conflicted. He had fallen in love, and his aching desire for Cameron had grown deeper than he ever imagined possible. While Nick had always offered Cam his unwavering support, Cameron’s downward spiral of self-doubt and battle for self-reliance nearly push Nick to the edge of letting go.

The thought of him with someone else, loving someone else, wrecked me.

Cam realized he was a little different. He was artistic, flamboyant, and adored sparkly, pretty things. Endlessly bullied for not being “masculine enough”, Cam strived to discover his place in the world. College was supposed to help, but things weren’t going as planned.

Cam gained strength in Nick’s friendship, his personal knight in shining armor. A lifetime of indecisions paired with a surprising hunger for the one man who’d always been his anchor, propels Cam to face reality. Change was happening, whether he was ready or not.

“I promise I won’t ever leave you again, Cam. We’ll never be apart.”

Two men battle their hearts amidst an uncertain future.

When he can no longer hide his feelings, will Nick break his sacred promise to never leave Cam’s side even though his heart and body desperately crave the only man he has ever loved?

Can Cameron find the strength to believe in himself enough to follow his own path, or will his stubbornness keep him from chasing his own dreams and risk losing the man who’s always stood by him?

 

INTERVIEW PROMPTS

The prized possession you value above all others…

It’s not a physical thing. The thing I prize more than anything is the gift of my imagination. It has carried me to places I may never go and places that don’t exist. It has helped me through sad times and lonely times. My imagination allows me to learn, to consider new things. And most of all, my imagination helps me to dream. I don’t even want to contemplate what my life would be like without it.

The regret you wish you could amend…

I wish I’d never listened to people tell me I couldn’t write when I hit my twenties and became serious about writing a novel. They told me no one wanted to read my stories. I let those words put up a block in my mind that kept me from writing for 16 years. It’s the biggest regret I have, because I let others take away my joy. Last year, I finally fought against it and here I am, proving them wrong. I just wish I’d done it much sooner.

The temptation you wish you could resist…

Dr. Pepper and Skittles. They are my obsession and they are so unhealthy. I’d love to cut them out of my life, but I can’t resist.

The film you can watch time and time again…

Howl’s Moving Castle

The poem that touches your soul…

This poem touches my soul in a slightly different way than people usually say about poems. “The Village Blacksmith” by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow is one that my grandpa and I shared. It was a poem he loved and when he realized I had a passion for poetry at the age of eight, he told me about it. In a way, it was our special thing from the rest of the grandkids. The poem itself doesn’t have a lot of meaning to me personally, but it is what it represents. When Papa died a few years ago, us grandkids were given the option to put something in his casket. I typed up this poem and framed it so it would be with him always. There is never a moment I don’t think of him that this poem doesn’t come to mind.

The event that altered the course of your life…

March 22, 2017. I hit publish for the first time. I went from dreaming I’d be an author, to actually being one. My life, my path, has changed. And nothing will stop me from continuing down this course.

The happiest moment you will cherish forever…

The first time I rode a horse. I was 11 years old. My aunt had horses and she was taking private lessons. She knew of my love for them and talked my dad into letting me take lessons with her. That first moment I sat astride this beautiful horse named Sheena was the happiest moment in my entire life (yes, it even caps publishing my first book), because it was the first moment I felt free. I felt a peace and calmness come over me I’d never known before. The world disappeared and it was just me and this powerful animal beneath me that had enough trust to let me on her back. I’ll cherish that memory forever.

Your early recollections of writing fiction…

I was in 6th grade. I had written little things years before, but I consider this moment the first time I really wrote a fictional piece, not something dictated by your teacher asking you to tell a story that involves Santa Claus. For my English/Literature class, we had to write a story about whatever we wanted. It had to be twenty typed pages long. I had to use a typewriter because we didn’t have a computer. That was the first time I’d really let my imagination loose and the piece I wrote ended up winning a couple of awards at a local writing competition. The story was about a girl who saw herself on the outside of everyone, always looking in. It was fictional, but pieces of myself were written into it. I have always included bits of me in everything I write since that story.

The crime you would commit knowing you could get away with it…

Destroy every coffee bean on the planet. So it could never exist again. I will probably get ostracized for saying that, but I cannot stand coffee. I still love all of you who like it, though. Just keep it far away from me. If I knew I’d be safe from the pitchfork wielding mob that would come after me, this would be my mission!

The philosophy that underpins your life…

“To the world you may be one person; but to one person you may be the world.” Dr. Seuss

I try to remember that even if a single person can benefit from something I say, something I write, something I do, then it is worth it. It just takes one person to make a difference in someone’s life. And you never know who needs you.

Ever since I picked up my first pencil, the voices began to chatter in my head. Those who know about the writing voices will understand! My stories might have been short and horribly misspelled, but I weaved my exceedingly overactive imagination into each one of them. And then insisted everyone read them once, twice, maybe thirty or more times. I might also admit to having used that talent to wiggle my way of out trouble as a kid…frequently.

An introvert to the core, I spend my days as far from large crowds as I can possibly get. Sitting at my desk with my shiny laptop in the quiet of my own home is my happy place. Add a bowl of Skittles and plenty of Dr. Pepper, and I’m ready to write.

Thanks to my degrees in psychology and sociology; I have this wicked little habit of digging around in my characters’ brains and dragging out all their complexities. Oh, and I like to torture them. Don’t ever expect those HEAs to come easily.

Romance is primary in every single one of my stories. To me, love is love. Gender, age, race, religion or any other factor has nothing to do with it. I enjoy exploring people falling in love, the twists and turns as they fight to come to terms with giving their heart away to another. I promise, I will always give my leading characters their happy endings. They might just have to struggle a whole lot before they get there.

You can connect with me at:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ashewinters/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/ashe_winters

Or sign up for my newsletter for news and updates at:

Website: www.ashewinters.com

 

 

About Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

Leave a Reply

