RSS Feed

Craving Stains by Alina Popescu

Blog Tour and Guest Post – Craving Stains by Alina Popescu.

I’d like to welcome friend and fellow Wayward Ink Publishing author, Alina Popescu, as she stops by on her blog tour.

Where I find inspiration

To write stories, I need to be inspired. Otherwise, typing even a measly hundred words can turn into a dreadful chore. Luckily, finding inspiration is a lot more easier than finding all the time I need to write. Every little thing I run across can turn into a story idea, but some sources are more effective than others and I try to revisit them as often as I can. So I thought to share a few of my go-to sources, as knowing how to jolt your muse awake always comes in handy.

Folklore and myths

These are absolutely awesome when I try to write something that’s either fantasy or supernatural in nature. I don’t have a favorite source, it can be Greek mythology, or Egyptian, or Sumerian, or Christian (that was the case for the Lost Angels series). Folklore is also amazing at times, as some of the strangest stories are passed on through it.

My werewolf series Tales of the Werewolf Tribes—of which you’ll get the first sample in early July with Strength to Let Go—started out after I researched the myth of the Dacian great white wolf. That somehow turned into the Dacian Wolf alpha and now there are about four books planned in this series.

Gadgets and science shows

I love reading news about gadgets, seeing concept designs and finding out everything about tech advancements. Science shows, either those explaining things or those exploring theories, are another fun way of getting inspired for futuristic stories. I’d add medical or anatomy features here, as sometimes they can lead to quite interesting plots.

Books and movies

I read quite a bit and I watch a few movies each month. I should also add TV shows. I find them inspiring as I stumble across ideas or concepts or philosophical or moral dilemmas that I’d solve differently. Reading across genres and watching movies and shows of all kinds is probably why I don’t ever stick to one genre when I write, so there!

Manga, anime, and animations in general

Manga and anime are a great source of inspiration for me. Maybe because there are a lot of supernatural and scifi series out there. Maybe because they vary from incredibly sweet to very dark. But the worlds I’ve discovered in this genre are always impressive. I find comic books and animations in general great at depicting alternative worlds, fantasy or science fiction, in a way that not very many movies can, not without a lot of money thrown into it.

Music and visual arts

Lyrics or a melody will always be a great source of inspiration for me. Devil’s Trill had a lot to do with my Lost Angels series. Simply because it led me to thinking about the nature of temptation, about what constitutes a sin, and what defines pure feelings.

Sometimes a painting or a photo can inspire a character or an entire story. It happened with the photo of a forest where the trees all had yellow leaves. It created a whole new assassin type of character for a science fiction piece I was working on.

I hope this either helps you find your own inspiration or, at the very least, gives you a better sense of where my stories come from 🙂

stains-tour-640

Title: Craving Stains

Author: Alina Popescu

Length: novella

Genre: gay, gay fiction, science fiction, paranormal, gay romance

Publisher: Wayward Ink Publishing

cravingstains-waywardinkpublishing-JayAheer2015-finalCover

Synopsis

Wynn Brenwood has been trapped by his mother since birth, shut away in a sterile, hospital-like apartment.

Is it her desire to keep him safe that sees him locked up in his pristine cage? Or are her motives less innocent and well-intentioned?

Wynn longs to break free to experience the world he sees beyond his window.

Desperate to escape, he meets Doyle, a handsome, leather-clad, and enigmatic stranger.

But is Doyle real, or is he just a figment of Wynn’s imagination?

excerpt

I MUST have fallen asleep at some point, Wynn thought. He must have slid into this dream, surely, as that was the only explanation for the room he was currently in. A bed with dark silk sheets took up most of the room, flanked by two nightstands. A stained pizza box was thrown on one of them. On its path to the nightstand, the box had knocked down a can of soda, the liquid a messy stain on the carpet. Clothes were piled up all over the chair and desk next to the window. Wynn would guess there was a pretty old laptop under that messy pile of garments, but he couldn’t be sure.

The door was flung open and a dark shadow entered the room. As it approached Wynn, he could tell it was a man. Tall, dark, and generally huge. Wynn gripped the window pane he was leaning against. He lifted his gaze to the man’s face, and a sly grin greeted him. The man’s dark brown eyes swam with mischief, and his full lips parted to reveal a bright smile. He was breathtakingly gorgeous, and Wynn suddenly found it hard to breathe. He stalked closer and Wynn finally noticed what he was wearing: combat boots, black leather pants, and an old leather jacket over his bare upper body. Muscles bulged under his olive skin, and Wynn couldn’t suppress the urge to lick his lips, his nostrils flaring at the stranger’s spicy, masculine scent.

“And who might you be? All alone here in my room. That’s not a very safe place to be in, kid,” the man warned in a deep rumble.

Goose bumps quickly covered Wynn’s skin from his neck to his shoulders and down his arms. He blinked a few times, trying to remember his name and to get some words out. The man’s reached out to his face, cupping it. His thumb brushed Wynn’s cheek, and he swore he could have swooned at the touch. His very first touch from someone who was not a doctor or his mother.

“I… I… sorry, I don’t know how I got here,” he whispered. “I’m Wynn.”

“Doyle,” the man said firmly, right before his lips crushed Wynn’s in a bruising kiss.

Wynn gasped and clung to the stranger’s leather jacket, distracted by the surprisingly soft material. A warm tongue pushed past his lips and found his own, swirling around it. Wynn’s knees went weak, and he whimpered. He was falling, and embarrassment was his only emotion. Strong arms caught him. Doyle chuckled, and Wynn felt the tremors in his body.Well, at least I can amuse the man.

“Feeling okay, Wynn? You look like you’re about to faint like a teenage girl after her first kiss.”

Doyle’s teasing should have embarrassed him further, but the man’s voice made Wynn shiver, heat pooling in his groin, his stomach twisting painfully.

“Hey, stay with me,” Doyle demanded, shaking him a little. As Wynn was still having a little trouble breathing properly and holding himself up, the stranger helped him to the bed, pushing him down to sit on it.

“That couldn’t have been your first kiss,” Doyle said, arching an eyebrow and pushing back a little to give Wynn a once over. “I know it’s my birthday, but did they pick up a virgin for me?”

“Pick up a virgin?” Repeating Doyle’s words didn’t help him much, but Wynn still felt like saying it over and over again. What was the man talking about? “I am a virgin, but no one picked me up. Like I said, I don’t know how I got here.”

Book Trailer

 

Buy Links

Amazon US / Amazon UK / Amazon AU / Amazon DE / WIP / ARe

giveaways

Prizes:

1 x $20 WIP Giftcard and 3 x ebook copy of Craving Stains by Alina Popescu

ENTER THE RAFFLECOPTER GIVEAWAY HERE

about_the_author

profile

Writer, traveler, and coffee addict, Alina Popescu has been in love with books all her life. She started writing when she was ten and she has always been drawn to sci-fi, fantasy, and the supernatural realm. Born and raised in Romania, she finds her inspiration in books of all genres, in movies, and the occasional manga comic book. She is a proud geek who needs her fast Internet and gadgets more than she needs air.

Social Links

Site & Blog / Facebook / Twitter / Instagram / Goodreads / Google+ / Amazon

stains-tour-250

About Lily G Blunt - Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels eight ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

Leave a Reply

