RSS Feed

Guest Author ~ Jordan Castillo Price

A warm welcome to guest author, Jordan Castillo Price

1175640_398986430203202_1390112502_n

Hi, Lily! I’m so pleased and honored that you’ve offered to let me come talk about my new project on your blog. A different format has become do-able lately for indie writers like me, a format that was previously not viable for anyone but bigger publishers, and that’s audio! I’ve only begun producing audiobooks this year, but I’ve already had the first three books in the PsyCop made into audios.

Since I wasn’t sure what PsyCop fans would want to know about the process, I asked readers on Facebook.

Allison asked, “What made you choose the narrator you chose? What about his voice/reading made him the narrator that resonated with you?”

I’m not sure exactly how many auditions I received, maybe ten or twelve, so I didn’t have a gigantic pool of talent to choose from. Although I not only indicated that I wanted a Midwestern accent for Victor Bayne, but Chicago specifically, you’d be surprised how many people with distinctly non-Midwestern accents auditioned. I really can’t imagine why. It probably takes about half an hour or more to record a ten-minute audition. If you’ve got a distinct southern twang and someone’s looking for a Chicago voice, what’s the point of doing the recording? I suppose publishers deal with that all the time, people who send them cookbooks when they publish Urban Fantasy and such. But the process was new for me, so I was intrigued by the results of my call for audition.

Some actors fell into an “almost” category. One actor was really enthusiastic and his voice had a lot of personality, unfortunately there was something East Coast about the way he’d pronounce a word here and there, something that continued to pull me out of the story. There were a few more auditions who were pretty good. I liked the way they accented the words that I was also accenting in my head.

But then Gomez Pugh sent in an audition and totally nailed it.

It’s hard to articulate exactly what the quality of his voice is that captured my imagination. There was no Texas or Jersey or any other inappropriate location lurking in his pronunciation. He sounded just about the right age, so you could buy that he was a fortyish cop from Chicago. And—most important—he sounded world-weary and disillusioned, even though I was having him read a romantic scene. That was what really grabbed me.

Clare London asked, “What do you feel is added to the book by an audio voice?”

I think people process audio and text differently—I know I do. Some folks say they can’t pay attention to an audiobook. I’m the opposite of that. I will forget where I’m driving when an audiobook is playing in the car, because I get so swept away into the storyverse. When my eyes are tired from a day at the computer, and the last thing they want to do is watch TV or read, I love being able to lie back and lose myself in an audio.

What I notice Gomez brings specifically to PsyCop, though, is an elusive tenderness to Vic when he’s dealing with certain people. I think his rapport with his BFF Lisa is striking. There’s a scene in Body and Soul where he’s talking to a victim’s grandmother, where Vic and the old lady don’t even speak the same language. But the tenderness there was so clear it actually choked me up. The ease Vic feels when he’s talking to Maurice really shines through. And the chemistry with Vic and Jacob, particularly in the love scenes, just floors me. So I think what this talented actor is bringing to the books is delicious nuance that reveals layers of characterization in a way that might not always happen with text.

Don’t just take my word for it, come check out the PsyCop audiobooks!

Stream a sample from each book at the PsyCop site

Among the Living

amongthelivingAUDIO200-1

Audible / iTunesAmazon

Criss Cross

crisscrossAUDIO200-1

Audible / iTunes / Amazon 

Body & Soul

bodyandsoulAUDIO-200

 Buy on Audible

COMING SOON

on

 iTunes and Amazon

Thaw (a PsyCop short)

thaw-AUDIO-200

FREE to stream or download HERE

~O~

Many thanks to Jordan. These sound fascinating. I’ve only just discovered Audible, so will be checking these stories out soon.

306405_1829584399451_752732720_n

Check out the PysCop Facebook Page HERE

and the

PsyCop site HERE

About Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

4 responses »

  1. Wonderful interview…albeit damned short! LOL. I don’t think the importance of a great narrator can be overstated. I can’t tell you how many audiobooks I’ve returned to Audible for poor/bad narration. Or, on the opposite hand, how many 3-star books have been turned in to 4 and 5-star audio experiences because of stellar narration.

    Prime example:

    A Matter of Time by Mary Calmes. One of my all-time, all-genre favorite series. The first two were “good”. Paul Morey doesn’t do great narrative, but he can excel at character voices. His Sam and Jory set the bar. Then #3 Bulletproof was released, performed by one of the worst narrators in our genre, Jeff Gelder. It was so awufl, I DNFd it, returned it, and reread the book. #4, But For You, was performed by Finn Sterling, great at narrative, ok with voices. The last one, Parting Shot, was performed by Tristan James, one of my most favorite narrators in our genre. For me, he turned a 3-star story (sorry, I couldn’t care less about Aaron Sutter) into a wonderful audio experience.

    Narrators make ALL the difference!

    Like

    Reply
  2. A lot of the audiobooks I listen to are of books I’ve already read. But the audio always gives ,me a new experience of the book, some different interpretation of a line, or brings out a narrator’s humour more for example. So they act as a great complement to the text.

    I’m also more likely to relisten than reread, because I have lots of books waiting on my Kindle to read, but I don’t have as many audiobooks waiting for me to listen to. So going back and listening to one again fills in the gap until I get my next new one.

    Like

    Reply
  3. I respect my readers’ time too much to blather on in an interview for 10,000 words, Kathleen 😉

    You know what’s interesting, Becky, is I don’t think I’ve ever read something and then also listened to it in audio. There are some series where I’ve picked up part book, part audio, but I hadn’t thought of doing that for a re-read.

    Do you ever go in reverse and read something you’ve listened to?

    Like

    Reply
    • I have done a couple now where I’ve listened to the audio first. And once series I’m so far doing audio only (might read the ebooks one day.) That’s the Henry Rios mysteries. The narrator of those has a gorgeous voice. I could listen to him all day.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

