RSS Feed

New Release and Guest Post from Edison Hart

A warm welcome to

EDISON HART

Congrats on the new release of the second book

in the

More Than Mates‘ series,

Spotting Jake

Spotting Jake new COVER

Blurb:

His dreams of Olympic glory came to nothing, but will gymnast Peter Matskevich have more luck in love? Now at uni, when he’s not studying his books, he’s studying the male talent on campus. After a chance encounter in the campus cafe one day, Peter loses his heart to Jacob Bailey — a theatre arts student with long muscular legs and the face of an angel. When Jake doesn’t even seem to notice him, Peter decides to win him over using his biggest asset. But could his big muscles and gym-junkie lifestyle be exactly what’s scaring Jake away?

My review of Spotting Jake

five-stars

Another fabulous novella from new and talented author, Edison Hart. I’ve been looking forward to this story since reading his first book and was thrilled to be part of the editing process again.

Set in Australia with different characters and a new situation, Spotting Jake follows the story of Peter and Jake—one muscular, the other lean and athletic— who become ‘more than mates’. Although they’ve seen each other around campus before, the two guys meet regularly in the university gym, but try not to give away they are checking the other out over the weights and exercise equipment. When they finally get talking, it is clear the attraction is mutual. Friendship blooms as does the lust for each other.

Edison Hart writes from the heart, giving the reader hot and sexily written scenes along with a very enjoyable plot that makes you chuckle at times. The characters are real and the emotions their story engenders makes this novella a fantastic read. I can thoroughly recommend this book.

~O~

Tell us a little about yourself, Edison

The book that holds everlasting resonance…

There’s a long list here, but there’s an unlikely one that stands out — Stephen Fry’s early autobiography, Moab is my Washpot. I read it when I was 16. It was the first book I ever read in which a boy fell in love with (was besotted with) another boy. It wasn’t fiction. It was real. It was the first time I knew I was not alone. I was a boy from the bush. There was no one gay in my life — no real gay characters on television (Mr Humphries in ‘Are You Being Served?’ didn’t really cut it for me). It was a revelation. I was normal. I was going to be OK.

 The film you can watch time and time again…

Being a massive Anglophile, I’m a sucker for all the Richard Curtis films; Notting Hill, Four Weddings and a Funeral, etc. I’m also mad keen on classic Hollywood. But Four Weddings is the one I love the most.

The person who influenced you the most…

My Grandmother. She’s a woman of 82 and my best friend. Our family have thrown a lot of modern problems at her over the years and she’s taken them all in her stride and has shown us all how to love unconditionally. I grew up on a farm and she lived in the house across the paddock — so she practically raised me. I’m in London and she’s in outback Australia and we natter for hours on the phone, just like the schoolgirls we are at heart.

The unlikely interest that engages your curiosity…

I’m mad keen on architecture. I sometimes go on holidays based around the recent additions to the skyline. And I post photos of them on Instagram, ad nauseam.

The event that altered the course of your life…

I saw Tom Baker as Doctor Who, aged about five, and decided scarves and jackets were the very thing for me. I’ve never seen any cause to dress any other way. Even when growing up in 40C heat in outback Australia.

The song that means the most to you…

This depends on the day, my mood, circumstances. But Elton John’s My Song is a great favourite.

The unfulfilled ambition that continues to haunt you…

I’m still going to write that full-length novel. Actually I started publishing the More than Mates series in order to sort of “pull the bandaid off”, if you will; I needed to prove to myself that I could write a story to completion. That has worked. I’m much more confident now. Assuming I don’t fall under a London red bus on the Clapham High Street tomorrow, there’s every chance I’ll write that full-length novel before long.

Your early recollections of writing fiction…

I’ve been writing all my life. I remember a classmate and I deciding we wanted to write a book together in the second grade. We worked at it on our lunch breaks, quite studiously. Goodness knows whatever happened to the book. I don’t even know what happened to the girl. But I do know there was a lot less sex in my writing in those days.

The pet-hate that makes your hackles rise…

Hearing people chew. Especially if they’re chewing gum. I mean, that’s just reckless, senseless chewing. One of these days I’ll lash out and stick the end of my umbrella through someone’s neck on the tube in a bid to shut them up and I’ll wind up in Wormwood Scrubs — incarcerated but unrepentant. “Take him down”, the judge will say. “I regret nothing!” I’ll shout, as I’m clasped in irons.

The piece of wisdom you would pass onto a child…

Try to do very little harm. A personal favourite of mine was Paul Eddington, the fabulous actor from The Good Life. He was a Quaker and, in an interview just before his death in 1994, said he hoped “to do very little harm: because most people, I think, do a very great deal of harm”. That really resonated with me. I think it’s something everyone should keep in the back of their minds, in everything they do.

The crime you would commit knowing you could get away with it…

I’d probably touch up hot boys on the Tube. There are just so many of them and at 34 I’m becoming such a dirty old man. (In this fantasy, the boys are into it… which makes it much less of a crime. I’m not actually into sexual assault, I promise.)

The philosophy that underpins your life…

“No pressure, no diamonds”. They are the words of Thomas Carlyle. They’re centuries old but, in my deadline-rich career as a reporter, I’ve found it’s true. I work well under pressure.

The plug…

Edison Hart has published two novellas, Downing Tools and Spotting Jake, as part of the More than Mates series. Both are available on Amazon.

Buy links:

Downing Tools: Amazon.com  Amazon UK

10703668_1380434488913705_990572498740530533_n

Hot and fun! A great read.

Trent Hall is an apprentice painter, gay, in the closet, and a virgin. He is also a horny yet self-conscious teenager. He meets his dream guy, “Macca”, a muscle-packed hunk on a building site, and from the first glimpse of his firm arse, Trent lusts after him and wonders if he could be `the one’. Thus follows a mix of humorous and angst-filled scenes as Trent observes and awkwardly pursues Macca, but it soon becomes evident the feeling of desire is mutual.

Edison Hart’s writing draws you in from the start and Trent’s inner dialogue and fears come across as both real as well as amusing. The reader feels for the young guy, face palming when he speaks before he thinks on several occasions, and no doubt cheers him on when he dates the object of his affection.

The erotic scenes are hot and explicit yet tastefully written with passion.
The story is a delight to read with likeable and believable characters, fun and hot all rolled into one. I look forward to Book 2 in this series and further works from this talented author.

Spotting Jake: Amazon.com  Amazon UK

1501340_1425632031060617_4034542596685769841_o

About Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

One response »

  1. Sounds like a great read, but I need to know which tube line Edison is on because the ones I use are sadly lacking in hot boys.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

