RSS Feed

FREE FICTION FRIDAY

freefictionfridayavatar

Always

Chapter 9 ~ Part 3.

I tapped on the door and opened it cautiously. Seb was sitting on the edge of the bed stroking Edward’s hair. He looked up as I entered the room, but only glared at me without saying anything. Edward was lying face down with his arms wrapped around a pillow.

Seb continued running his palm over the back of Edward’s head, soothing him. That was my job—I was the one who should have been doing that for him.

I shifted uncomfortably from one foot to the other when he didn’t move away from Edward. I felt the strong urge to pull Seb away from him and scoop Edward up in my arms.

“Can I speak with Edward?” I asked instead, trying to speak as gently as I could manage.

Seb thought for a moment, but didn’t leave his side. “Edward, do you want me to leave?” he said, still stroking his hair. “Or do you want me to ask Jayden to leave?”

I felt my heart was in my mouth as we waited for his reply. I don’t know what I would have done if Edward asked me to leave.

Edward mumbled something into his pillow and Seb leaned in closer. “Can you repeat that, baby?”

Baby! What the fuck? A surge of jealousy rushed through me.

Edward turned his face sideways so he was facing away from me, but I heard him say, “Can you give us a few minutes, Seb?”

A few minutes! That won’t be enough time. I wanted the rest of my life with him, not a few measly minutes. Was it Edward’s turn to tell me goodbye?

Seb slowly eased himself off Edward’s bed and made his way out of the room without saying a word to me, only giving me a look that said, ‘don’t you dare hurt him anymore’. He closed the door quietly behind him, leaving us alone at last.

Edward didn’t turn to look at me. In fact, he didn’t move at all. My heart pounded in my chest as I moved cautiously over to him and perched myself on his bed next to him. I wanted to stroke my hand over him just as Seb had been doing, but I held back for some reason.

Edward’s face looked red and blotchy and his eyes were fixed firmly on the wall next to his bed.

“Edward… I’m so sorry,” I started, “please forgive me.” I wanted to hold him so much.

Edward didn’t move or say anything.

“I’m sorry I let you down and hurt you. I didn’t have time to think things through properly. I was so scared.”

“It was so easy for you to say those things to me. You were going to leave me, Jayden,” he murmured.

“Oh, baby, it was the hardest thing I’ve ever done. I was trying to protect you, Edward. I didn’t want anything bad to happen to you.” My tears were falling once more.

Edward rolled over towards me so he was lying on his back. He avoided my eyes and stared at the ceiling instead. His hair was totally disheveled and his eyes were puffy and red.

“I’m so sorry,” I said again. “Surely you know I didn’t mean anything I said to you. I just had to make you believe the story I was telling.”

“You wanted to end our relationship. I really thought I’d lost you this afternoon. Do you have any idea how much I’m hurting at the moment, Jayden?” he said and finally turned to look at me.

“I’m hurting, too… I hope you can forgive me because I honestly don’t think I could live without you, Edward.” I tentatively reached out for him and stroked some hair out of his eyes. I placed my hand on the side of his head and rubbed his temple with my thumb.

“I don’t want to go through this ever again,” he warned me.

“I promise I’ll never hurt you again. You are everything—you are everything to me. I love you so much, Edward.”

“You love me?” he said almost in disbelief.

I nodded and smiled at him. “Edward, words can not express how much I love you.”

Edward looked deeply into my eyes for a few tender moments.

“So show me how much you love me, Jayden, and that I can trust you,” he whispered. “Make me forget about the past. Make love to me.”

~O~

SEE THE FREE FICTION TAB FOR THE OTHER CHAPTERS

~O~

free fiction friday fb

Be Sure To Check Out The Other Stories:

Follow all your favorites  and read the first 100 words on the group’s website:

FREE FICTION FRIDAY

ANY AUTHORS WISHING TO JOIN FREE FICTION FRIDAY

CONTACT ANDY via freefictionfriday@gmail.com

About Lily G Blunt - Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels eight ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

Leave a Reply

