RSS Feed

FREE FICTION FRIDAY

Always

Chapter 9 ~ Part 2.

USE THE FREE FICTION FRIDAY TAB AND DROP DOWN MENU

TO FIND THE OTHER CHAPTERS AND STORIES.

Finally making my way back to my room, I felt nervous and embarrassed about facing Edward because I wondered what his reaction to me was going to be. I’d been a total wimp in the hot-air balloon, but my response to Jedd’s threats was despicable. I could see that now and I wanted to apologize for my inconsiderate behavior.

To my surprise, instead of Edward, Ellis was now sitting on my bed. I scanned the room, but it was obvious Edward was no longer there. My heart skipped a beat as I took in Ellis’s stern look.

“Seb’s taken him back to the house,” Ellis answered my unspoken question, maintaining the thunderous look on his face.

I had broken my promise to him and hurt Edward by my foolish words and actions. After all this, it looked like I’d lost my Edward anyway.

“Edward explained everything to you then?” I asked, fighting back sudden tears.

“What the hell were you thinking, Jayden? Why didn’t you just phone us straight away instead of saying all those things to Edward? Do you know how much you have hurt him? He’s so broken now—it will take him ages to get over this.” Ellis was visibly shaking with anger.

“I was trying to protect him and all of you,” I protested. “Surely he knows I didn’t mean all the things I said to him?” My legs felt weak and I thought I was going to throw up, but instead I burst into tears.

Ellis’s demeanor didn’t change. “He is heartbroken, Jayden. I think you should give him a few days before you try to speak to him again.”

“What?” I screeched through my sobs. “I’ve got to see him today, to make everything right between us again.” Adrenaline coursed through my veins. I may not have fought for him earlier, but by God, I was not going to lose him now.

“I don’t think he wants to speak to you,” Ellis said coolly.

I was determined to see him. “Ellis, I’m going to see him tonight whatever you think he wants.” Fuck, why couldn’t I have been this forceful with Jedd? Then we wouldn’t have been in this whole mess to start with.

“If I take you to see him, you’ve got to promise me one thing, Jayden.”

“What?” I barked at him and rubbed away the wetness dripping from my nose.

“Promise me you’ll never, ever hurt him this way again. For fuck’s sake, talk to him, Jayden, don’t shut him out and try to deal with everything yourself. You’re partners, so damn well act like a couple and talk things through.”

Ellis was offering good advice. Something I should have thought about earlier this afternoon before all this damage was done.

I eventually persuaded Ellis to let me go back with him to see Edward. He held me tightly for a few minutes and I began to hope that I could repair some of the damage I’d caused.

Ellis drove sedately as if he was purposefully trying to delay our reunion. I completely understood that he was still angry with me and it would take time for him to completely trust me again.

As we entered the house, I expected to receive a cool reception from the other guys, but nothing prepared me for the total lack of warmth I felt as I walked in. Edward had some true friends here who really cared for him and I had jeopardized my friendship with them as well. Only Aiden gave me a faint smile. I only hoped I could restore their trust and faith in me over the coming days and that we could become firm friends again in the future. More importantly, though, I had to claim my boyfriend back.

“Where’s Seb?” Ellis asked as we entered the lounge area.

“He’s upstairs with Edward,” Jack informed us. “Seb’s been in his room for over an hour now and Edward still won’t come down.” Jack turned and growled at me, “What have you got to say for yourself, Jayden?”

“Leave him alone for now,” Ellis intervened. “He’s had enough grief from me this evening.”

Jack tutted loudly and walked over to Zachary, who wrapped his arms around him and kissed him on the side of his head.

“Is it all right if I go up to see Edward?” I asked Ellis, although if he’d refused, I’m sure I would have gone anyway, kicking and screaming if need be.

Ellis nodded, so I made my way to Edward’s room taking two stairs at a time.

~O~

USE THE FREE FICTION FRIDAY TAB AND DROP DOWN MENU

TO FIND THE OTHER CHAPTERS AND STORIES.

~O~

Be Sure To Check Out The Other Stories:

Follow all your favorites  and read the first 100 words on the group’s website:

FREE FICTION FRIDAY

ANY AUTHORS WISHING TO JOIN FREE FICTION FRIDAY

CONTACT ANDY via freefictionfriday@gmail.com

About Lily G. Blunt

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

Leave a Reply

