RSS Feed

Interview with Taylin Clavelli

I’d like to welcome friend and fellow Wayward Ink Publishing author, Taylin Clavelli.

10390362_264930127024803_537433344531800810_n

 

Thank you for having me, it’s amazing to be here.

My pleasure, Taylin. Thank you for sharing a little about yourself.

 The prized possession you value above all others…

That would have to be my photo albums as they give a jump start to memories of people, places and events, many of which a person forgets over time. The photos are the physical possession, the memories they invoke are the prized possession.

 The unqualified regret you wish you could amend…

Hell, I’m far from perfect and have many regrets I wish I could amend. Too many to list them all and some have a bigger impact on my life than others. However, the one thing from primary school that still comes to mind, is during the days when animals were allowed in the classroom. I was an accident prone child and some baby chickens hatched and were being kept under heated lamp. While cuddling the chicks I managed to knock over the lamp and it broke. All the chicks were fine and all lived for a long time. But, I had to stay and give them warmth while the unhappy teacher replaced the lamp. I got a ton of stick from the other kids at the time and I regretted possibly causing the chickens any pain, and I regretted being clumsy. The whole thing scared the shit out of me cos, kids being kids, said I nearly killed the chicks and that had a big impact on me.

The temptation you wish you could resist…

Ohhhh, a loaded question. I’d put your readers to sleep if I listed them all, there is not one. I’ve been on the earth too long to have just one.

The book that holds everlasting resonance…

My Family and Other Animals, by Gerald Durrell. It is a book about the life of the conservationist Gerald Durrell. His antics and observations while growing up in Corfu. I absolutely adored the love the man had for animals. That love continued into adulthood where he founded the Durrell wildlife park in Jersey, which helps save species from extinction.

http://www.durrell.org/wildlife-park/

I’ve never had the chance to visit, but would love to go there one day.

The priority activity if you were invisible for a day…

It would depend on where I was in the world when given the chance to be invisible. So many possibilities. Putting my finger on one, it would be to be to sneak onto the set of The Hobbit.

The film you can watch time and time again…

Oh easy, Star Wars. Despite being a lover of LOTR and The Hobbit, Star Wars I have grown up with and have literally watched it time and time again.

The person who influenced you the most…

My husband. When growing up you experience the will of your parents and peers. When I met my husband and all through our marriage, he has encouraged me to be my own person and to do what makes me happy. He questions me and makes me think outside the box, too. He’s a wonderful man.

The unlikely interest that engages your curiosity…

Martial arts, it engages more than my curiosity, I am a 2nd Degree Black Belt in Taekwondo.

The poem that touches your soul…

‘Twas The Night Before Christmas by Clement Clarke Moore. I love the imagery of the poem, and there is something special in the air when you are outside on a cold winters evening and the snow is falling.

The event that altered the course of your life…

Getting made redundant. It set my life on a different course and during those months I moved from being a reader to having the time to become a writer.

 The song that means the most to you…

No one song can be named. Many songs out there touch me and make me stop what I am doing to listen to them. A huge portion have different meanings to me and invoke a range of thoughts. Knights in White Satin by the Moody Blues, In The Air Tonight by Phil Collins. Adam Lambert’s Trespassing. Pheonix by Fall Out Boy.

The happiest moment you will cherish forever…

The birth of my children.

The unfulfilled ambition that continues to haunt you…

Of course, Jersey, but on the whole, world travel. I’ve gone to many places, but there are soooo many still to visit. Being a LOTR and Hobbit fan New Zealand is high on the list, as is Brazil and Hawaii. I love the scenery in NZ, fell in love with it years ago. As for Brazil – I love how alive the place is.

Your early recollections of writing fiction…

Red, lots of red. Pages of red. Most of it saying, paint a picture with your words, pointing out my habits and literary no no’s. Oh and the differences between English/English and American/English. That and sitting before a blank screen with an idea in my head thinking, oh shit, where do I start?

The way you would spend your fantasy 24 hours, with no travel restrictions…

I’m also taking a Star Trek attitude here and believing I have portable beaming capacity, a universal translator, and the ability to breathe anywhere. Not going near time travel.

In that case, I would start off in Jersey, before a whistle stop tour of Australia and New Zealand. Then I’d dive onto a reef in the sea – don’t care which one. Then spend a huge chunk of time in Egypt at the Cairo Museum, The Pyramids, Valley of the Kings, Abydos, Karnak, Alexandria, Abu Simbel, Philae. I’d then beam out to the moon so that I could see the earth and stars clearly with my own eyes and not through glass. I’d finish the day at Disney EPCOT with a trip around the Geosphere and firework display.

The pet hate that makes your hackles rise…

When people as you a question then don’t stick around to hear the answer.

The figure from history you would most like to buy a pie and a pint…

Rameses The Great. I saw his mummy at the Cairo Museum. For me, there was still a presence about him that spanned time. It was enough to make me query life after death.

The piece of wisdom you would pass onto a child…

While it is admirable to want to change the world, learn how it works before you get in and make the changes.

The treasured item you lost and wish you could have again…

Nothing physical comes to mind. But I would love to regain the magic of Christmas, and the innocence of still believing in Santa.

The crime you would commit knowing you could get away with it…

Castrate child abusers.

The philosophy that underpins your life…

Let people be who they were meant to be, love who they want to love, and live the life that is right for them – without judgement. A person can have their own thoughts and beliefs, but they shouldn’t be forced onto another unless willing to engage in discussion and hear an alternative point of view. More to the point understand there is more than one point of view and it’s okay.

Please be aware that I am female, therefore all these answers could be different next week. J

The plug…

Three short stories in the Bollocks! And Love, Loss, Laughter and Lust anthologies from Wayward Ink Publishing.

Bollocks Bookmark

 

 

LLLL Final Cover

PARTY PARTY PARTY!!!!

And to celebrate the release on 20th June, you’re invited to join the release day party. It will run for 24 hours to allow all the authors in the anthology a chance to spend time chatting with readers and fans.  I will be there on Friday evening UK time. There will be giveaways throughout the day, so stop by and join in the festivities.

Click here to join the party

Dakota Skies – out September 2014.

DSDraftCover03

 

Check out Taylin Clavelli’s Website

1477922_265011033683379_8615244472234470254_n

 MANY THANKS, TAYLIN.

I WISH YOU SUCCESS WITH ALL YOUR WRITING PROJECTS.

 

LOVE, LOSS, LAUGHTER AND LUST GIVEAWAY

In addition to the prizes that will be given away as part of the release party,

WAYWARD INK PUBLISHING

has created a general giveaway that runs until July 4th, 2014. 

ENTER THE RAFFLECOPTER DRAW HERE

 

 

 

 

 

About Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels five years ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

5 responses »

  1. Hi Lily, great questions I really enjoyed the interview with Taylin. You are both new to me authors and I look forward to reading your books. Thanks

    Like

    Reply
  2. please count me in

    Like

    Reply
  3. I loved the interview! Especially the advice on learning how the world works before you try to change it. I wish that someone would have told me that when I was younger… but knowing me, I probably wouldn’t have listened anyway!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

