RSS Feed

EQUAL RIGHTS BLOG HOP

“What does being a member of the GLBT community mean to you?”

I am a proud participant of the Equal Rights Blog Hop, taking place here and on dozens of other blogs July 4-7, sponsored by Queertownabbey.com.

Mail Attachment

As I’m straight, you might assume I do not consider myself to be a member of the GLBT community. And I did wonder if I should take part in this blog hop considering the title question.

Until three years ago, I don’t think I had even read an m/m novel. Now that’s all I ever read. It’s become my preference, my choice.  A journey via Robert Pattinson and through fanfiction, believe it or not! I won’t bore you with the details here, but if you would like to know more, please comment and I’ll fill in the blanks for you in another post.

Over this time, I have come to firmly believe love is love whatever the gender.

It’s not a question of gay or straight.

 It’s just a question of love.”

61079_456332461082113_1496258027_n

And that’s what I read and write about–the love between two men. For me, it is all about the intensity of shared feelings and passion for another human being.

I make gay-themed videos too, which I post on my YouTube and Vimeo channels, and on my author tumblr and Facebook page, I post pictures and gifs of guys hugging, kissing and demonstrating love for each other.

http://www.youtube.com/user/BoyonBoyLoving

http://lilygblunt.tumblr.com

http://www.facebook.com/LilyGBlunt?ref=hl

It is through my writing and online sites I have met many new and fabulous friends and readers. They are a mix of gay, bi and straight males and females, but most have similar interests to me and are eager supporters of gay rights.

To me, a community is a group of people who share similar beliefs and interests, and as an avid supporter, I feel I belong within that community even though I am straight.

So over the past few years, I have come out … as an ally.  Indeed, I am now an out and proud straight ally.

I’m an advocate of equality for the GLBT community and the world as a whole, firmly believing everyone should be treated as equals. Every person, gay or straight, should have the right to live without fear of abuse or harassment. Everyone should have the right to marry whomever they choose.

Recently signing the Straight for Equality Pledge, I have taken this important step in developing and amplifying my voice as a straight ally. I’m looking forward to doing more on behalf of my GLBT friends, family members, and colleagues in the future.

I realize now my small contribution can make a significant difference in the lives of those around me. Every bit of help I give, and that of others like me, is moving equality forward, and that’s what matters.

Being gay isn’t a lifestyle choice. But supporting the GLBTQ community is.

I have made that choice and I am proud to say it out loud.

l

mexico_city_gay_marriage-9631

AMAZON LINK

UK AMAZON LINK

A_Darker_Shade_of_Ox_Cover_for_Kindle

BLOG HOP LINK to keep hopping

What is the name of my YouTube channel?

Answer for a chance to win a grand prize.
Queer Town Abbey is providing 3 Amazon Gift Cards of $25.00 each.

About Lily G Blunt - Gay Book Promotions

About the Author Lily G. Blunt writes contemporary gay romance. She loves to explore the relationship between two men and the intensity of their physical and emotional attraction. Angst often features in her stories as she feels this demonstrates the depth of the men's feelings for each other. Lily is forever writing imaginary scenes and plots in her head, but only a few ever make it to the page. There never seems to be enough hours in the day despite having left the teaching profession to concentrate on her writing! Lily discovered the wonderful world of m/m romance novels eight ago via fan fiction and went on to write stories in her spare time. With the encouragement of her friends and readers she decided to publish some of her work. Lily subsequently self-published several stories via Amazon and later published short stories with Torquere Press, Wayward Ink Publishing, and Pride Publishing.

26 responses »

  1. Great post! So many wonderful authors participating.

    Like

    Reply
  2. Boy on Boy Loving
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

    Like

    Reply
  3. Yes. This. It’s a matter of basic humanity, isn’t it?

    Anna
    annabutlerfiction@gmail.com

    Like

    Reply
  4. Carol Griffith

    Beautifully written. Love your stories and your tumbler accounts. This is something I have just discovered in the last year, and have debated with family and friends. Love is love, have to agree.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Your YouTube channel is BoyOnBoyLoving (might just check it out)!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  6. Sarah_Madison

    BoyonBoyLoving! I didn’t know you made videos! I just added you to my tumblr dashboard too. 🙂 I came to M/M romance by way of slash fanfic too–when I discovered it, I felt as though I’d found adult romance with characters I could finally identify with for the first time in my life! akasarahmadison[at]gmail[dot]com

    Like

    Reply
  7. Thanks for post and hop.

    Like

    Reply
  8. It’s BoyOnBoyLoving. Love the title ^_^

    I also started to read M/M fanfic but got my start through Harry Potter.

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

    Like

    Reply
  9. BoyonBoyLoving is a great name. I’ll have to check it out in my free time.

    humhumbum@yahoo.com

    Like

    Reply
  10. Boy on Boy Loving

    Wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

    Like

    Reply
  11. Love IS love. why do we have to have labels?

    lena.grey.iam@gmail.com

    Like

    Reply
  12. BoyonBoyLoving.
    romanczukcATyahooDOTcom

    Like

    Reply
  13. Boy on Boy Loving
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

    Like

    Reply
  14. Your channel is called BoyonBoyLoving. Thank you for the great post and for participating in the blog hop!

    Like

    Reply
  15. You absolutely belong! So glad you’ve found a passion for the community and promoting equality. Thank you for sharing with us.

    Like

    Reply
  16. BoyOnBoyLoving – regnod(at)yahoo(d0t)com

    Like

    Reply
  17. Loved your post! I was like you, I went from never having read m/m to reading it all the time. Thanks for participating! Oh, and your channel is BoyonBoyLoving.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

